Spooks – The Boom Years on EmpireOnline

With every newspaper’s front page a potential storyline and the public beginning to ring-fence Mondays at 9pm for its weekly dose of espionage thrills, Spooks had entered the TV zeitgeist. Eschewing the US showrunner model, the show powered on with Kudos’s Jane Featherstone, her producers and an ever-rotating team of head writers constantly tweaking the formula without sacrificing the style.

Richard Armitage (Lucas North): I loved working with the character of Ros and working with Hermione [Norris]. If you look at Robin Wright in House Of Cards, I feel like she’s watched Hermione in Spooks. She’s just a cool character.

Richard Armitage (Lucas North): I loved working with the character of Ros and working with Hermione [Norris]. If you look at Robin Wright in House Of Cards, I feel like she’s watched Hermione in Spooks. She’s just a cool character.

Armitage: I’d never really watched the show until I signed up. I got sent the box set and thought I’d watch one episode, then it’s 5am and I’m going, “One more, just one more.” You couldn’t watch just one episode.

Armitage: The scripts would come in really late, which was exciting and frustrating, but it meant they were keeping their finger on the political pulse. It’s why the show ran for ten years.

Armitage: The one thing I love and miss about Spooks – and I really do miss it – was exploring parts of London that you’d never normally see, like Lucas’s first scene in Battersea Power Station. They never shot in the same place twice.

More on: http://www.empireonline.com/spooks/part2.asp

This entry was posted in TV Series - 2002-2010 - MI-5 (Spooks) and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.